1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

9, 672 pieces of evidence

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by louisea, Mar 13, 2012.

1. Yesterday our SIP/SEP - whatever they're now called came into school. She was looking at progress across school and my head asked me to provide 3 of our Learning Journeys for her to look at.
    I have quite a bit of evidence in them, post its, photo's samples of writing, mark making etc. It's my first year in reception so it has been a big learning curve, but I do feel quite confident that I know how my kids have progressed.
    Anyway, she says there is not enough evidence and that I should have 3 pieces of evidence for every point!!! I have 31 children in my class, so if all 31 reach point 8 (very, very unlikely I know but still) that would equal to a total of 312 pieces of evidence x 31 = 9672 pieces!!!
    WHY do I need to write down THREE times that Billy leaves his carer, or that a child listens and responds?????
    I know this is all soon to change but what is the point? Why can't THE POWERS THAT BE take my judgement (16 years of it) that I know what I'm talking about.
    I have spent 2 hours tonight looking at where I have gaps and how I can change my planning around to get some evidence in.
    I'm really fed up of jumping through hoops. I'm loving Reception and after many years in KS1 find I have really found my niche. But some of the expectations of staff is just plain silly!
    Rant over!
    Lou

2. Yesterday our SIP/SEP - whatever they're now called came into school. She was looking at progress across school and my head asked me to provide 3 of our Learning Journeys for her to look at.