1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

    Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

    Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

    Dismiss Notice

7 continents

Discussion in 'Geography' started by loubelou12, Aug 20, 2018.

  1. loubelou12

    loubelou12 New commenter



    My topic this term is the continents. On some web sites the continent Australasia is now referred to as Australia. I would like to know which one I should use.
  2. CarrieV

    CarrieV Lead commenter

    If you use the convention of seven continents, these would be Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, South America, Antarctica and Australia/Oceania.
  3. Geoff Thomas

    Geoff Thomas Star commenter

    When did Australasia become Australia?

    Is New Zealand in Australia?
  4. lottee1000

    lottee1000 Occasional commenter

    Calling it Australia is incorrect, and quite offensive to many people!
  5. lizziescat

    lizziescat Star commenter

    It's always worth checking the provenance of websites. Australasia has never been Australia

Share This Page