1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

6th form Monitoring/tracking

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by bluetack, Jan 16, 2011.

1. Hi, Im currently acting Head of 6th form, covering a maternity post. As Im new to this I need some guidence and wisdom!
    I am trying to implement a more rigorous tracking programme for the 6th Form as quite alot of them just seem to be coasting at the moment.
    My idea is that subject teachers should meet with each student once per half term to inform them of progress and set targets, I am wondering if there is anyone out there who has a proforma for this kind of thing? The idea is that students/parents/head of year would get copies.
    Also I think a mentoring system needs to be in place, any ideas/ guidence/ resources would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks!

2. ferrisbueller

ferrisbueller New commenter

I'm hoping you want some advice?
    Firstly, unless your school has a very small sixth form, I don't think subject teachers are going to go out of their way to add to the workload, unless they are dedicated and motivated to do so.
    Do you have Sixth Form Tutors? If so, they are in a better position to interview students. Also, as a line manager you can make them do it. Sorry, you can explain why this strategy is being implemented and ask them to do it.
    Do you have Heads of Year? If so, utilise them to pick up the students who come out from the monitoring process as being of most concern. Don't be afraid to implement strategies that mean students have to do more focussed study time when not in lessons.
    Just one other tip, talk to the students first about what will be happening, then talk to the parents if you need to inform them.