1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

5-11 v 3-7 primary pgce

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Helenldodd, Jun 20, 2011.

1. I'm just starting out on my primary PGCE and am having a complete nightmare over what age group to choose. I have always been interested in early years but have been advised against choosing this age range as I could end up having teaching practice in a nursery setting. My tutor has also said I would be reducing my job opportunities by narrowing my age range. Please can someone offer me some advice......

2. I'm just starting out on my primary PGCE and am having a complete nightmare over what age group to choose. I have always been interested in early years but have been advised against choosing this age range as I could end up having teaching practice in a nursery setting. My tutor has also said I would be reducing my job opportunities by narrowing my age range. Please can someone offer me some advice......

3. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

I'd agree with your tutor. Train as primary and then get a post in early years if you want.

4. Hi Helendodd,