1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

47% pay cut: Scotland's newest shame?

Discussion in 'Scotland - education news' started by CanuckGrrl, Nov 5, 2011.

1. This discussion on the supply teachers' forum deserves a much wider readership so I'm posting the link here. Read it if you dare.
    As a permanent teacher, I consider the attack on supply teachers' pay and conditions in this country to be disgraceful, embarrassing, and appalling. I suspect it would be illegal in countries with robust equal pay for equal work legislation.
    SHAME ON THE SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT.
    SHAME ON COSLA.
    SHAME ON THE EIS.
    http://community.tes.co.uk/forums/t/529717.aspx?PageIndex=1.

2. This discussion on the supply teachers' forum deserves a much wider readership so I'm posting the link here. Read it if you dare.
    As a permanent teacher, I consider the attack on supply teachers' pay and conditions in this country to be disgraceful, embarrassing, and appalling. I suspect it would be illegal in countries with robust equal pay for equal work legislation.
    SHAME ON THE SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT.
    SHAME ON COSLA.
    SHAME ON THE EIS.
    https://community.tes.co.uk/forums/t/529717.aspx?PageIndex=1.

3. sbf

sbf New commenter

Its hardly news, we all knew the issues and voted on them.
    Hopefully people will stop doing supply and schools will start to slowly fall apart.
    Only then will people realise the joke that is scottish education.
    Cant think anyone on supply will fancy paying more for the meger pension.
    I really feel for the kids, as i think things are going to get pretty bad in the classroom, teachers really have had enough.

4. kibosh

kibosh Star commenter

Hear hear!!! [​IMG]