1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

39 and stuck in temporary contracts

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by muddyjudiff, Sep 25, 2019.

1. muddyjudiff

muddyjudiff New commenter

I left a permanent post in December 2016 - mainly for the sake of my mental health and wellbeing! No problem, I thought. I'm an experienced teacher with good references - I'll get something else soon enough.

Three years of temporary contracts later and I'm losing the will a little bit! The last contract was eight months and turned out to be a positive experience. Despite Ofsted mentioning my Year group as being particularly strong, the three permanent posts went to NQTs.

I believe a lot of this is down to budget and possibly my age. (Nearly 40 so not that old).

I've been studying for my SENCO award (paid for myself) as this is something I would love to do. I have experience in special schools. I had an interview the other day and they liked me aside from the fact that I didn't have SLT experience. I don't think this is something they typically look for, though.

I do lots of sports coaching and I work for a charity as a volunteer too.

Any thoughts or words of encouragement?

2. JohnJCazorla

JohnJCazorla Star commenter

I also left my last permanent one then as well, made redundant and I have made the discovery that long-term supply is easily what I want. I do keep smiling and nodding whenever a school mentioned the possibility of permanent but never follow through with anything onerous (like filling in an application form).