1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

3 days short of maternity entitlement

Discussion in 'Pregnancy' started by kaytewalsh, Jan 14, 2011.

1. Hello there,

I really need advice that any one has to offer. It's urgent!

I am 24 weeks pregnant and have just been informed that due to my last school finishing my contract 3 days befor the end of the summer term 2009, that i have now not enough continuious service to qualify for the full maternity entitlement.

I have been working under the same LEA for now 3 years.
    My last post was a matrenity post and the head refused to keep me for the last three ( activity days) of term. I didnt recieve the hiloday pay but i have got over that now!

My frustraiton is that i do not qualify for maternity leaving me £1500 short each month.
    Has anyone been in this situatuion before or know of a simular case?
    I have gone to the union about this matter and they are looking further into it.

Another question i have is that if i return to week approx 4 weeks after the baby is born then end up going on to sick (i am entitled to 50 days at full and 50 half) will i be able to recieve that sick pay as i did not complete the maternity leave?

Your help would be gratefully recieved.

Thanks x

2. sorry can't help - have no idea - but didn't want to ignore - I don't think you can do much except leave it with the unions.
    Hope you get it all sorted
    x

3. Sorry you are having such a hard time. I was bullied out of my permanent post when I couldn't conceive - I spent many hours being angry about the maternity rights I'd lost. Wasted hours because I still haven't conceived. I've no idea what rights I'd have now if I conceived but I don't think about it too much.