1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

24,000 pounds per annum not much?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by ohlalahorse, Feb 21, 2008.

1. Hi,

I'm new to the teaching world ;)I have QTS.

I may get a post in a Greater London school. I guess I'll start on point M1, so I'll have 24,000 pounds per year. My questions are:

1. Is 24,000 pounds per year not much money? I've heard teachers aren't paid well, but is 2,000 pounds per month not much to survive in Greater London?

2. So I get 24,000 per annum, but how much will Inland Revenue take from that?

Please, solve my doubts!

Thanks in advance!

2. Hi,

I'm new to the teaching world ;)I have QTS.

I may get a post in a Greater London school. I guess I'll start on point M1, so I'll have 24,000 pounds per year. My questions are:

1. Is 24,000 pounds per year not much money? I've heard teachers aren't paid well, but is 2,000 pounds per month not much to survive in Greater London?

2. So I get 24,000 per annum, but how much will Inland Revenue take from that?

Please, solve my doubts!

Thanks in advance!

3. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

It's hard to say without knowing your circumstances - we don't know whether you're entitled to various tax allowances, for example.

You know you'll take home somewhat less than £2000 per month, so it depends on where you live, with whom, the quality of your home, etc (shared rent? Still live with parents?). Then there's other outgoings - fuel, water,travel - how far from school might you live, etc. Food, drink (what kind of social life do you expect to have?).

You'll probably be better off working outside London, but it depends on your lifestyle.

4. Middlemarch