1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

2016 Maths Expected Standard

Discussion in 'Primary' started by michael__foster, Feb 2, 2016.

1. michael__foster

michael__foster New commenter

Anyone got any ideas as to what the pass mark for KS2 tests will be. Obviously, it isn't going to be finalised until scores are all in but I would like some sort of ball park figure. I'm currently working on old money L4 with 46/100 being a pass so have basically calculated about 50% of the marks.

Is this way off the money or does anyone else have any thoughts?

It's getting to crunch time and I'm feeling it

2. nical73

nical73 Occasional commenter

I'm a year 6 teacher feeling it too. I agree that old benchmark if 46/100 is a rough guideline. However, having looked at the sample papers on the DFE site have a feeling that thresholds will be higher. The reasoning papers, in particular, look tough. First few questions are much harder. 30 minute timed arithmetic test? I agree that children should be able to complete formal methods but I've always taught mine to take time and care, check calculations carefully. Why time them?
    So many thoughts, so many questions
    Pressure on after half term. Good luck to all year 6 children and staff

3. mystery10

mystery10 Occasional commenter

If you think the papers look tougher than the old tests, don't you mean the threshold could be lower?

mrsminniemouse likes this.
  4. teacup71

teacup71 Occasional commenter

They originally said the pass mark would be equivalent to 4B. The pass mark on the old paper was only 4C.

5. mystery10

Is the general feeling that the papers look tougher? If so, 46/100 could be like a 4b if it was 4c on an easier paper?