1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

2016 Edexcel GCSE German writng / paper 4 results

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by parkert, Aug 25, 2016.

1. parkert

parkert New commenter

I've been teaching for 21 years now. I deem myself a good teacher with outstanding traits most of the time. I have been a team leader for the Edexcel GCSE French writing paper for several years now and my reports from the assistant principal examiners has always said how accurate my marking is. So here is my concern:

For the second year in a row, my German writing papers have been marked at an average of a grade and a half to two grades below what I mark them (for internal purposes). I know how to mark this paper. I mark it according to how I have been applying the mark scheme, successfully as a team leader, for many years now. I tend to mark strictly and meanly anyway in class so that we have the "worst-case-scenario".

Anyone else experiencing this with German? I never had it with French so what is going on?

2. teacher8204

teacher8204 New commenter

Yes, we have had exactly this problem with the German writing papers and it has had a major impact on our results this year. I don't know if it's worth asking for one or two of them to be re-marked?

3. nugget

nugget New commenter

This has happened to us too and has massively impacted results. French were ok but German marked down horrendously. Is there anyway of finding out why? I feel we need a justification for this!!

parkert likes this.
  4. trey-desolay

trey-desolay New commenter