1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

2013 application

Discussion in 'Scotland - prospective teachers' started by cha510, Aug 19, 2012.

1. Hi
    I know it's a bit early but thought I'd see if there is anyone thinking of applying for PGDE next year? Or to ask advice from anyone who made it through the application process this year and will be starting soon?
    I had a terrible interview in 2010 and have made the decision to give it another go!! I have a lot of experience working with children of different ages but feel I was missing recent classroom experience so plan to set some up very soon
    Charlene

2. AirHostie

AirHostie New commenter

Hi

Im applying for 2013 too. Where are you thinking of applying to? Im going to go for Moray House Edinburgh and Dundee.

It's good you have experienced the interview! At least you will know what to except! How are you arranging your classroom experience? I've emailed lots of primary schools but haven't heard anything back. Do you think emailing is the best way or maybe phoning?

3. I would suggest that phoning, explaining your situation and asking to meet the headteacher (or head of department) would be a good way to go. I would also suggest that if you are still living near where you used to go to school to get in contact with them as they may be more interested in accomodating for you. I have heard of quite a few people having problems getting into a school for experience but both my friend and I approached the schools we used to attend and they were very keen to help us.

No matter what though I would recommend contacting schools directly. It shows that you're keen and focused, and also means that they can't just ignore you or put you off.