1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

18 Years out of teaching - can I return?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by craftycaryn, Feb 13, 2020.

1. craftycaryn

craftycaryn New commenter

Hi, I have had a LONG career break from teaching to bring up my family and run a business. My youngest is now in secondary and I have been feeling more and more that I'd like to get back into teaching.
    I was a secondary biology teacher and taught up to and including A-level. However, I am thinking I would like to go into Primary but from searching through the options I can't really see how to go about it.

Have I been out of it for too long? Is it realistic to think I'd be employable? I just feel drawn back to it - honest opinions please - I can take it!

2. bonxie

bonxie Senior commenter

Initially, you could try doing a bit of volunteering in primary or signing yourself up for supply. That'll give you some recent teaching experience to put on your applications.

BetterNow, SBW2009 and agathamorse like this.
  3. BTBAM85

BTBAM85 New commenter

No.

You won't recognise the job. Don't do it. You would get employed, but you'd start on M1 and very quickly be bullied because slt would see you as old fashioned.

4. Shedman

Shedman Star commenter

Get some school visits in and see what modern teaching involves. It will be considerably different to what you were doing 18 years ago. Approach local schools, observe lessons and talk to the other teachers so you know exactly what you will be letting yourself in for.