1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

£££ to train to teach mathematics

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by DM, Jun 27, 2011.

1. DM

DM New commenter

2. So they are assuming better mathematicians are better teachers?

I'd like to think I'm a pretty decent teacher, but I only got a mere 2.2!

3. There you are everybody - no need to strike over pensions with all this on offer. Good old Govey.

4. strawbs

strawbs Occasional commenter

isn't satisfactory the new bad?

5. DM

DM New commenter

Satisfactory has now been defined as the bottom half of second class.

6. strawbs

strawbs Occasional commenter

so satisfactory potential as a student gets you £11k; satisfactory as a teacher gets you the sack....!

7. DM

DM New commenter

I'm going to respond to the consultation and say they should pay an extra £100 for every A* at A Level and £20 for every A* at GCSE (£30 for A* with distinction). A few of those on top of a first class degree would surely be worthy of the label "Mega-outstanding potential".

8. Is this backward compatible?

9. All I can say is that Gove's experience of training ITT students differs to mine. And I'm soooooo glad that he's raising the bar for trainees, as we're just drowning in applicants, and could really do with a way of distinguishing between them.

10. [​IMG]

11. Hmm, on a £23,000 salary, 3% extra pension contributions woks out at £700pa. So, someone with a first will see the £20,000 bribe whittled away in 30 years, whilst seeing their salary shrink in comparison to their mates working ar GCHQ; BigBucksBank PLC or some insurance company.

I can't see it as a great incentive for the numerate!

cyolba, doing the Maths :)

12. mmmmmaths

mmmmmaths New commenter