1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

15 minute 'activity' for y4 post - help please!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by julesrewls, Oct 22, 2018.

1. julesrewls

julesrewls New commenter

Hi All,

Was wondering if any of you guys could help me please.

I'm an experienced English teacher but left my job in the Summer as I made the decision to switch to teaching primary via supply work to gain some experience.

Unfortunately, I haven't had a lot yet in Primary schools, but I have managed to land an interview next week for a y4 position, with the brief of delivering a 15 min activity with a clear objective which is achieved in the 15 mins.

My idea atm is to use a writing frame / fill in the blanks to get students to create their own limericks. Having looked at the NC objectives though, not sure that this fits in with any of them. Would this be a suitable activity for a y4 class or should I try and think of something different to do?

Thanks.

2. marlin

marlin Star commenter

… was asked for.
    … you've found that limericks do not fit any objectives.
    So look at the objectives and then plan an activity - not the other way round. I'm sure you'll find something that you feel confident to teach and that clearly meets the task you have been set.

Good luck with your interview.

digoryvenn and julesrewls like this.
  3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

You're quite right in that you need to start from what you want the children to learn and then work out the activity.
    EDIT Just seen marlin's said something similar.

Having said that I could see
    En4/3.3a Plan their writing by: