1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

12 years old English not his first langauge?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Stanny123, Aug 3, 2017.

1. Stanny123

Stanny123 New commenter

Hello everyone,

First of all I would like to thank you for reading my post and if you have ANY suggestions, please kindly share them with me. I have recently started teaching a 12 years old boy whose English is not his first language. He has recently moved from China and will be starting Year 7 this September. I carried out an initial ESL assessment with him to gauge his English level and is not great - perhaps at elementary level, able to say simple words/ sentence e.g. 'I like to watch TV.

I am a new teacher with not a lot of experience and is private tutoring him one hour a week. I am wondering if I should start with teaching him KS2 English to build his foundation. Any suggestions and ideas are greatly appreciated!

galerider123 likes this.
  2. chloef23

chloef23 New commenter

With EAL children, it is fluency in the English language which affects their academic attainment from reception through to KS3. For me, this suggests that developing the language skills of EAL children should be a key focus.

Much of the research I have looked at argues for meaningful social interaction between the EAL child and a native language speaker. In the past, I have used visual comprehension exercises in which children are shown a 'busy' picture and verbally answer a range of questions. It allows an opportunity for EAL children to practise different sentence structures and use a wide variety of English words which would not otherwise be experienced within the normal school routine.