1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

11+ tutoring question

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by dodie102, Mar 7, 2019.

1. dodie102

dodie102 Occasional commenter

I was just hoping to pick your brains tutors.

I live in a grammar area and everyone it seems has a CEM test tutor for their child who wishes to try for a grammar. My son's teacher has told me to 'go for it' and 'he's a real mathematician' and we are happy to help. Although I'm a teacher myself I think for family harmony I'd like to engage a tutor.

My question is: we have the choice between a rather ramshackle but lovely lady who gives lots of sheets and lots of quizzes with some CEM style questions and another equally kind retired teacher who seems much more driven. Whom should I pick? Also have added to the mix a mother of one of my son's friends who would like to share a tutor with us and the retired primary teacher has said she would do that for the remainder of Y4 and 'see how we go'. I'm really in a quandary as I'm not sure you can beat one to one for focus and attention.

Any wise words?

Yours gratefully.

Dodie

2. phatsals

phatsals Established commenter

Definitely don't share. It's unlikely both children will progress at the same rate and it can mask real progress. You need to choose a tutor who understands what your local Grammars want; ask them their pass rates.

Could I ask which area you live in? Some areas are much more competitive than others.

Kateray1 likes this.
  3. dodie102

Thank you phatsals.