1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

100 days SSP . Still true if an Academy chain?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by artemis81, Jan 18, 2017.

1. artemis81

artemis81 New commenter

Dear all
    I have been signed off work due to illness and was told by my Union that there was an allowance of 100 days at FT rate due to the fact that I have been teaching for over 10 years.

I have now received a letter from my Academy stating that this is not the case and that the full and half term pay entitlements are effectively halved.:eek:
    In addition, in the correspondence , an 'end date' for the 1/2 pay is given and instructions are provided regarding my entitlement to accessing Employment and Support allowance.:oops:

i am in pieces.:(
    what does this mean and can Academies create their own limits on sick pay- not in accordance with the Burgundy Book?
    In addition, with regard to the the last part of the correspondence which i refer to regarding Employment an Support allowance- does this mean that in effect I am dismissed from this date?

I would appreciate anyones help regarding this issue.
    I am already unwell and have been signed off and this has sent me absolutely into panic.:(
    With thanks

2. GLsghost

GLsghost Star commenter

1) Were you employed direct by the Academy, or were you TUPEd across from a school which recognised Burgundy Book, with contract terms intact?

2) If 1) applies, then Burgundy Book entitlement to sickness benefits applies