1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

1-year topup degree in Education - worth it or not?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by TeachingOk, Jul 23, 2019.

1. TeachingOk

TeachingOk New commenter

I'm thinking of taking a 1 year top up degree for more training within Education before I do my PGCE. This course is titled "BEd (Hons) Education and Early Years". It doesn't come with QTS as far as I know and doesn't have a practicum element to it, but that won't be a problem as I'm going to do my PGCE after this course anyway. I have a Bachelors in a completely unrelated field.

I'm concerned about how my employers will see this - they'll see that I completed this degree in one year as I'm going to do my PGCE the next. I'm sure my employers won't see this course as equal to a proper 3/4 year B.Ed, so I'm concerned if I'm just going to be wasting my money. Not concerned about spending a year of my time studying because it's going towards a career I want to work in.

What do you think?

2. stanley4shoes

stanley4shoes Occasional commenter

top up degrees are usually to top up foundation degrees not as a stand alone degree

3. phatsals

phatsals Established commenter

Complete waste of money. As said above, it's a top-up to foundation degree. Have you already secured a place on a PGCE and if so, is it for primary or secondary phase? If secondary your subject degree is highly relevant and if for primary it needs to reflect aspects of the national curriculum.

Save your money and your time.

4. TeachingOk

TeachingOk New commenter

I have not secured a place on a PGCE yet and if I do it all be for Primary.