1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

1 teacher = 12+ observations = 1 week

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by teacher988, Feb 25, 2012.

1. I thank god every day for pulling my child out of this school. As a teacher myself, I should have looked beyond the ofsted report. I will never forgive myself for making the wrong judgement every time I hear about the latest scheme designed to terrorise teachers, yet introduced in the name of 'enhancing teaching and learning'.
    I have been teaching almost fifteen years and I have never heard of such blatent manipualation of teaching rules, regulations and procedures. The headteacher of an 'outstanding' primary school has introduced a 'focus week' for each year group at a time, which involves each teacher in the year group being obseved in every subject for one week. Each observation lasting up to 1 hour. The initial outrage from teachers who felt that this kind of pressure was unecessary was dealt with by instilling fear of career damage and sheer intimidation. Teachers at this school are already accustomed to constant negativity, so I only wonder what state they will be in after a whole week of observations. Surely this is wrong isn't it?
    I feel very fortunate to work in a school that operates under the guidance of a compassionate HeadTeacher who believes in our abilities as teachers. Thank you Pete :)

2. I thank god every day for pulling my child out of this school. As a teacher myself, I should have looked beyond the ofsted report. I will never forgive myself for making the wrong judgement every time I hear about the latest scheme designed to terrorise teachers, yet introduced in the name of 'enhancing teaching and learning'.